Where does taste come from?

fullsizerender-8

Tuesday night we had a chance to write on the white board our “Top 5” in film, literature, music and in art. It was quite interesting activity to see everyone’s top favorite and least favorite of each subject. Some were similar and of course some were not. Soon enough we began to discuss our opinions on what was on the board. As we discuss we shared, A. O. Scott review in New York Times, that we get out opinion from personal taste. But where do we get it? It simply starts off as a conversation. It’s the collaboration with someone else then it evolves as a dialog. It is a fundamental social act, and a much as we thought (well at least I did) it is not an individual act. For instance, when we think about who is reading our blog we are thinking of who we are engaging with, that’s how it functions.

Discussing the “Top 5” in music, we were discussing if we were evaluating the music or the artist. The certain standards that appeal to us and why. In one of the levels of taste is how the upbringing of it as we were growing up. It proves that it is not something that comes from within us but the product of the outside. Our parents, older siblings or friends influenced their favorite music or books with us. Because it is more meaningful if you can share that. It is a way to share the experience and it is sharing a piece of yourself to the other person. That is criticism is all about to share the dialog and that gives that work meaning. Even if you don’t agree or like it, it is important to know. You feel connected to that person and/or to the work.

-Marlene Gallegos

5 comments

  1. I agree with Marlene. Taste is something we pick up from all of our surroundings, our different experiences, our memories tied to those experiences, etc. It has such a profound impact on our individual personalities that once we find and share our taste or “information” with others, we cannot help but react; either negatively or positively, depending on what our lives have each brought to the table. That is what makes it poetic in a sense, however. Finding a connection when our similarities in taste lock onto each other, or fighting passionately against someone who finds opposing views on our individual love for something. It’s sharing with one another that makes criticism essential. As we talked about during class, criticism is a dialogue between and audience. We simply have to discover which audience we’re trying to connect with.
    -Kellye Son

    Like

  2. I agree as well; a lot of my taste has come from personal relationships or from experiences through them. The stronger the experience, for me, the more I believe in the quality of said film, song, book, etc. The similarities in class seemed to show up through common experiences and opinions on certain subjects, especially with music; with most of the top choices being part of our childhood. I would say taste depends on the company you keep rather than the majority as well. Depending on the type of people and environment you’re in/grow up in; taste will fluctuate and change.

    -Madison S.

    Like

  3. I personally like thought provoking questions that the other blogs had, however I personally just liked your approach to the class and what sparked your attention. That was also my favorite part in discussing the dialogue aspect of how taste can be developed through it. It’s external forces that shape our mentalities and ideas of what’s valued and what’s not. The Top 5 assignment you brought up was also immensely helpful in getting that point across because it emphasized the differences/ similarities we all shared and the explanations behind it.

    Like

  4. I really like the photo you included first of all. And I can definitely tell where you sit thanks to it. I feel like I can agree that taste comes from those around us and close to us. I know my music taste has changed over the years based on my cousins influence, my parents, and my friends’. However, I never really thought about it not being simply my decision on what I like and what doesn’t appeal to me.

    Caylee

    Like

  5. I also enjoy the photo! Very nice, simple touch that made the post that much more intriguing. A person’s taste derives itself from their environment and surrounding people from birth onwards. I had never really wanted to admit that my taste and opinions were semi-shaped by my family and even friends growing up, but I agree that it is not an individual development. I also very much agree with your statement about criticism and dialogue giving a work meaning and importance. Liking the same thing as someone or disliking something are both powerful points of discussion.

    Like


Leave a Reply

